Workshop Details
WONTON: Workshop on Nanotube Optics and Nanospectroscopy
07/17/2005 - 07/20/2005
Meeting Description:

First Workshop on Nanotube Optice and Nanospectroscopy

The recent advances in the field of nanotube spectroscopy have not only broadened our horizon regarding their optical properties and their potential towards new applications, they have also stimulated intense discussions regarding issues of fundamental interest. Here, we want to bring colleagues and students together for a concentrated four-day workshop on nanotube optics and spectroscopy.

Topics to be covered at the meeting include:
# Light absorption, emission, and scattering
# Carrier interactions, band structure and optical spectra
# Theory of excitons in carbon nanotubes
# Ultrafast dynamics of carriers, excitons, and phonons in carbon nanotubes
# Spectroscopy of small ensembles or individual tubes
# Magneto- and electro-optics
# Nanotube-based optoelectronic devices and electroluminescence
# Growth and purification of nanotubes for optical studies
# ...

The meeting will host a maximum of 60 participants. It will feature approximately 20 invited talks by distinguished researchers as well as 40 contributed poster presentations. We believe that the size of this meeting with a clear focus on nanotube optics and spectroscopy will provide an ideal forum for fruitful and stimulating interactions among young and established researchers.

Notes:

SPEAKERS
Tsuneya Ando (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Phaedon Avouris (IBM Yorktown Heights)
Mildred S. Dresselhaus (MIT)
Graham R. Fleming (University of California, Berkeley)
Paul Finnie (Institute for Microstructural Sciences,
Ottawa)
Robert H. Hauge (Rice University)
Achim Hartschuh (University of Siegen)
Tony F. Heinz (Columbia University)
Manfred M. Kappes (University of Karlsruhe)
Hiromichi Kataura (Nanotechnology Research
Institute, Tsukuba)
Hans Kuzmany (University of Vienna)
Victor I. Klimov (Los Alamos National Lab)
Steven G. Louie (University of California, Berkeley)
Shigeo Maruyama (University of Tokyo)
Eugene J. Mele (University of Pennsylvania)
Lukas Novotny (University of Rochester)
Andrew Rinzler (University of Florida)
R. Bruce Weisman (Rice University)

PARTICIPANTS:
Stephen Doorn skdoorn@lanl.gov
Debdulal Roy debdulal.roy@npl.co.uk
Han Htoon htoon@lanl.gov
Georgy Fedorov fedorov@magnet.fsu.edu
Eric Chang echang@unimore.it
ERIC Anglaret eric.anglaret@umontreal.ca
Tobias Hertel tobias.hertel@vanderbilt.edu
Randy Ellingson randy_ellingson@nrel.gov
Mildred Dresselhaus millie@mgm.mit.edu
S├ębastien Berger sebastien.berger@lpa.ens.fr
Danilo Romero dbromero@lps.umd.edu
Zipeng Zhu zipeng.zhu@vanderbilt.edu
Hans Kuzmany kuzman@ap.univie.ac.at
Joseph Wiltshire jgw@inbox.as
Phaedon Avouris avouris@us.ibm.com
Michael Heben michael_heben@nrel.gov
Achim Hartschuh hartschuh@chemie.uni-siegen.de
Yingzhong Ma yzma@zepto.cchem.berkeley.edu
Victor Klimov klimov@lanl.gov
Neil Anderson neanders@optics.rochester.edu
Lukas Novotny novotny@optics.rochester.edu
Yan Yin yanyin@bu.edu
Robin Nicholas r.nicholas@physics.ox.ac.uk
Jonah Shaver shaverj@rice.edu
James Doyle jdoyle2@tcd.ie
Ian Mortimer i.mortimer1@physics.ox.ac.uk
Adrian Nish a.nish@physics.ox.ac.uk
Tsuneya Ando ando@phys.titech.ac.jp
Leonid Grigorian lgrigorian@honda-ri.com
Oleg Korovyanko ojk@anl.gov
Elena Obraztsova elobr@kapella.gpi.ru
Riichiro Saito rsaito@phys.tohoku.ac.jp
Andrew Rinzler rinzler@phys.ufl.edu
Takashi Shimada shimada@photon.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Daniel Milkie dmilkie@sas.upenn.edu
R. Bruce Weisman weisman@rice.edu
Jared Crochet jared.j.crochet@vanderbilt.edu
Marcus Jones marcus_jones@nrel.gov
Bruce Alphenaar bwalph01@gwise.louisville.edu
Eugene Mele mele@physics.upenn.edu
Manfred Kappes manfred.kappes@chemie.uni-karlsruhe.de
Junichiro Kono kono@rice.edu
Jay Kikkawa kikkawa@physics.upenn.edu
Paul Finnie Paul.Finnie@nrc.ca
James Fraser fraser@physics.queensu.ca
Youichi Sakakibara yo-sakakibara@aist.go.jp
Anna Swan swan@bu.edu
Hiromichi Kataura h-kataura@aist.go.jp
Jason Simmons jmsimmons@wisc.edu
Robert Hauge hauge@rice.edu
Garry Rumbles garry_rumbles@nrel.gov
Tony Heinz tony.heinz@columbia.edu
Steven G. Louie sglouie@berkeley.edu
Michael Arnold marnold@northwestern.edu
Shigeo Maruyama maruyama@photon.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Graham Fleming grfleming@lbl.gov
Patrick Richard richard@phys.ksu.edu
Veronica Barone vbarone@rice.edu
Todd Krauss krauss@chem.rochester.edu
Yutaka Ohno yohno@nuee.nagoya-u.ac.jp
Taishi Takenobu takenobu@imr.tohoku.ac.jp
Ajit Srivastava ajits@rice.edu
Ado Jorio adojorio@fisica.ufmg.br
Xiaodong Cui xd001@yahoo.com
Leonas Valkunas valkunas@ktl.mii.lt

Meeting Venue:

Telluride Conference Center in Mountain Village

Telluride Science Research Center
Post Office Box 2429, Telluride CO 81435
Tel: + 970.708.4426
Email: info@telluridescience.org
Back to Top